The Expansion Of Mind

Treasure of Angels, Nicholas Roerich

Treasure of Angels, Nicholas Roerich

If you read the stories of saints and sages, you will find that their values, approach to problems, deductions, conclusions, ideas and predictions were entirely different. Why, because they were mad? No, because their minds had crossed over the border of the senses, and when you go beyond that barrier, it is called expansion of mind.

With expansion of mind comes liberation of energy. When your mind is expanding by practices or by itself, then a certain type of energy is released. In yoga and tantra that energy is called kundalini shakti. Shakti and kundalini are the two terms used to denote this force, which has to be liberated as you liberate butter from milk. Here I am using the word ‘liberation’, but not in the religious sense. You know how butter is released from milk by a certain process; in the same way, the force or energy can be liberated from matter, because matter contains energy, or matter is a state of energy, and by a certain process you can extract that force. Beyond the body are the senses. Beyond the senses is the mind. Beyond the mind is the intellect. Beyond the intellect is the psyche. Beyond the psyche is the self, and beyond the self is the universe or the cosmos. This is how you have to extract the force from within this body and this person, and that shakti is known as kundalini.

Something about this force is known by most yoga teachers and practitioners, because nowadays people are talking about it and many books have been written concerning it. Kundalini is not a myth or a metaphorical poem. It is a force lying dormant beneath our animal instinct. This force is supposed to be the evolutionary energy in humans.

Swami Satyananda Saraswati, In: “Introduction to Kriya Yoga”


Meditation: A Worldwide Culture








In meditation one tries to make himself pure and humble so as to be open to something higher and divine. We may well wonder for what purpose so many people, from varying cultures and religions would want to disassociate themselves from their senses and fix their full awareness on one object, one thought or feeling.

In higher states of meditation what each person experiences is basically the same despite wide differences that may exist in cultural backgrounds and expectations. If there is ever to be unity amongst our religions, it may just be that meditation will bridge the gap between all faiths.

Meditation will never become a religion, nor a replacement for religion, but it will be commonly practiced by people of all religions and for basically the same purpose. There will be greater acceptance and understanding, and rather than the emphasis being on differences, the similarities will be stressed.

Swami Satyananda Saraswati


Ancient Egyptian Ritual with Blue Lotus Flowers

Ancient Egyptian Ritual with Blue Lotus Flowers







The word Anahata actually means “unstruck” or “unbeaten”. This centre is known as such because of its relationship with the heart, which throbs, beats or vibrates to a constant unbroken rhythm. It is said in many of the scriptures that there is a sound which is non-physical and non-empirical, which is transcendental in nature, and this sound is endless and unbroken in the same way that the heart beats faithfully and continuously from before birth up until death.

Anahata chakra is situated in the spinal column on the inner wall, directly behind the centre of the chest. In yoga the heart centre is also known as “the space within the heart where purity resides”. This chakra is a very delicate centre, for it is directly connected with that part of the brain which is responsible for all the creative sciences and fine arts such as painting, dance, music, poetry, and so on. Anahata chakra awakens refined emotion in the brain and its awakening is characterized by a feeling of universal, unlimited love for all beings.

Many Masters have recommended visualization of the still lake within anahata hexagon. Upon this lake there is a beautiful Blue Lotus. In the tantric text Saundarya Lahari, anahata is described as the garden of devas.

The Blue Lotus in Buddhism is the symbol of the victory of the spirit over the senses, of intelligence and wisdom, of knowledge. It is generally represented as a partially opened bud, whose center is unseen, the embodiment of the “perfection of wisdom”.

The Blue Lotus of the Nile was the most sacred of plants, prized above all others. The plant was associated with the Sun God Ra as the Bringer of Light.

”Anahata is the seat of human love and divine love – they are not two things, they are one and the same”.
Swami Satyananda Saraswati, “Kundalini Tantra”